THE TEST

       ***A look within***

      ~And live with them in kindness~
                  •An- Nisa v.19•

quran
Photo by abd ulmeilk majed on Pexels.com

“Assalaamu Alaikum waramatullah wabarakatuhu” turning to the left “Assalaamu Alaikum waramatullah wabarakatuhu’ raising her hands in supplication “O Allah you are indeed majestic in your doings and my heart is at rest that the goodness you have decreed for me after this test will surely come at it’s appropriate time because one of the sayings of the noble messenger (saw) is that “whoever Allah (swt) wishes good for He will surely test him”*. Thus I plead with you my Lord in your magnanimousity because you are Al- Jawad (The Magnanimous) to please strengthen me with patience and perseverance while I go through this test of mine Aameen.”
Ahmad who had been watching her from the doorway moves closer to her, he wipes away the tears from her checks and holds her close.
“May Allah (swt) who is Al -Ghaffur Raheem (The oft- forgiving, The Merciful) forgive us our sins and grant us the goodness of this world and the hereafter”.
“Aameen” replies Hameedah sobbing quietly as Ahmad hugs her tight.
“Ya’ Hubb, that’s enough, everything will turn out fine bi’dhnillah ta’aala remember the promise of our Lord is ever- true.”
He raises her head up and kisses her forehead “Allah (swt) always reward the patient” Moving out of his embrace “Habeebi I know…but… it’s been 5 years since we completed half of eachother’s deen and we have no offspring to call ours.” Thrusting her hands out in fustration

closeup photography of book page folding forming heart
Photo by Rahul Pandit on Pexels.com

“Sometimes it’s just overwhelming” she sighs “I can’t just stop the tears”.
“I understand what you mean my love, but remember that everything happens for a reason…” Cuts him…
“And the pen has been lifted and the pages have dried…” She completes one of his favourite admonition.
“Exactly that’s my scholarstic scholar!” he says as he tickles her.
Hameedah laughs and lightly punches Ahmad in the stomach.
“Aw..aw..aww!!! You have punched me… and now I will dii…ii..eeee”…he echoes as he slumps on the floor pretending to be dead.
“Ahhhahahahahahahah”. Hameedah laughs heartily at his funny attempt to cheer her up.
Ahmad opens one eye then the other and starts laughing as well.
“Ahhhhhh…Alhamdullilah.” recovering from the fit of laughter “Jazaakumllahu Khayran ya’ hubb” she places her hand on Ahmad’s left check
“May Allah swt continue to put affection, mercy and tranquility amongst us”
“Aameen” replies Ahmad.
Hameedah stands up to fold the praying mat and change from her praying garment
“So hubb, what’s for dinner? All that dying has made me hungry”
“yea right I can only imagine!” teasing him “As if you are not always hungry.” She replies
“Why wouldn’t I be hungry? When Allah (swt) has granted me a great cook as a wife.” Tapping her lightly on the shoulder “Now woman go into that kitchen and get me my food before I become an angry monster”
“No” she says turning her back to him
“Very well then!…You asked for it. Arghhhhhhhh— give me food! Give me food!! Give me food!!!” He chants
“Ok…ok…OK!!!…that’s enough! you hungry monster.” He stops and smiles as she leaves the room laughing to go set the table for dinner.
Staying behind, Ahmad supplicates to Allah (swt) ” Ya’ Rabb please forgive us our sins those known and unknown to us and grant us dutiful and compassionate children who will be the coolness of our eyes. Aameen”
“Hey woman what is taking so long?” He whines “I am about to starve to death” he says as he walks out of the room to join her in kitchen.

~Some hearts understand each other even in silence ` And He placed between you affection and Mercy ~
•Yasmin Mogahed & Ar- Rum v.21•

Author: Ganiyah

I am a lover of words, a wordsmith, a reader, a believer in purity and the goodness of monotheism and a muslimah striving for Allah's favour and mercy.

2 thoughts on “THE TEST”

Leave a comment